Leaving Amarillo (Neon Dreams #1) By Caisey Quinn Blog Review @CaiseyQuinn

leaving amarilloSynopsis

Music is my everything.

After my parents died when I was a kid, moving into my grandparents’ ramshackle house on a dirt road in Amarillo seemed like a nightmare. Until I stumbled upon my grandfather’s shed full of instruments. My soul lives between the strings of Oz, my secondhand fiddle, and it soars when I play.

In Houston, I’m a typical college student on my way to becoming a classically trained violinist headed straight for the orchestra pit. But on the road with my band, Leaving Amarillo, I’m free.

We have one shot to make it, and I have one shot to live the life I was meant to. Leaving Amarillo got into Austin MusicFest, and everything is riding on this next week. This is our moment.

There’s only one problem. I have a secret . . . one that could destroy everyone I care about.

His name is Gavin Garrison and he’s our drummer. He’s also my brother’s best friend, the one who promised he’d never lay a hand on me. He’s the one person I can’t have, and yet he’s the only one I want.

One week. One hotel room. I don’t know if I can do this.

I just know that I have to.



Leaving Amarillo (Neon Dreams, #1)Leaving Amarillo by Caisey Quinn

Kat’s rating: 5 of 5 stars

I was lucky to receive an Arc of this book and having not read any of Ms Quinn’s work before I know I will want to read the next book, from the moment I started the book to the time I finished it, I was engrossed by the storyline, characters and the music playlist that accompanies the book. Its a really good playlist.
some of my favourite lines from the book were:

‘Dandelions didn’t get to choose where they grew and neither did I.’

‘I feel the weight of time passing, slipping through my fingers faster than I can hold on to it.’

‘I need so very little to exist. Air. Water. Oz. Music. And for my heart to just beat. Just keep beating.’

‘I’m lace and daisies and a fiddle on my grandparent’s back porch. Dirt roads and dandelions…’

Reading the authors descriptions of the gigs and the band practicing you can almost hear the magic of the fiddle and the as you read, I could really picture Dixie loosing herself on stage and creating a Southern Stomping beat. Dixie is the main POV and her journey is a hard road from a loving but poor background, where both Dixie and her Brother Dallas are encouraged to pursue their music by their Grandfather. Dallas has a best friend, Gavin, who has been with them from the day their parents were killed, his upbringing was rough and he spent most of his childhood staying as far away from his home as he could.
His childhood promise to treat his best friends sister with respect has kept his feelings for her locked up – But Dixie has had enough, she wants to feel the passion she knows they both have, and is determined to show Gavin that he should stop worrying what Dallas will do and put their feelings first.

If you love sassy Female leads, Music themed books and HOT men then pick up this book and find out how the passion of music and the determination of the three band members take them on the the journey from the country bars to the Bright lights of Austin.

I really look forward to reading more of Ms Quinns books, and can’t wait for book 2

View all Kat’s reviews

BUY LINKS:

Amazon US   Amazon UK  Amazon AU  Amazon CA  Amazon FR

B&N   Kobo  iTunes

Author Bio


Caisey Quinn lives in Birmingham, Alabama and is the bestselling author of the Kylie Ryans series and several other New Adult Romance titles. Her Neon Dreams series will be available from Avon/William Morrow in 2015.

Twitter    Facebook    Website

Caisey Quinn’s Inspiration for the Neon Dreams series  

Not too long ago (barely over a year), I took a trip to Nashville with some friends. It was one of those last minute “oh my gosh, we have to see this super big artist doing a concert in a tiny venue because they just Tweeted that they’ll be there” type road trips. Unplanned, beef jerky, big gulps, and random road mix cd style adventure. My favorite kind.
However, by the time we arrived at the venue it was packed. Literally. Wall to wall crammed, people spilling out onto the sidewalk, full to maximum capacity packed. Apparently we weren’t the only ones who caught word that a big name artist was going to be there.
Sigh.
We decided to just check out a few local spots instead. In a bar called Crossroads we got comfy, ordered drinks, and started chatting about how bummed we were that we didn’t get to see the original artist we intended to. I can’t even remember now who it was. Here’s why.
As we’re ordering a second—okay, maybe a third—round and deciding if we’re going to just call it a night and get a hotel room or head home (Birmingham is only about three hours away), this glorious sound fills the air. No, it pierces the air, rips through it and grabs everyone in hearing range by the eardrums.
Our conversation—along with many others—ceased instantly. Chill bumps ran up my arms even though it was quite warm and I was wearing a jacket.
Most of the patrons gaped in awe as this young woman played the fiddle as if she’d been born to do that and only that. It was the solo from “Devil Went Down to Georgia” by the Charlie Daniels band and she was rocking it beyond comprehension. Pretty sure even the bartenders stopped what they were doing. The rest of the night was a little blurry, but I know we didn’t leave until that band had played their entire set.
We ended up getting a hotel room but none of us slept. All we could talk about was that band and how amazing they were and how we were kicking ourselves that we didn’t get their name so we could check them out online and hear more. I still look for them when I’m in Nashville and one day I fully expect to hear them on the radio. Whoever they are, they will forever be the band that inspired the Neon Dreams series.
This isn’t the exact band but they’re pretty close! The search continues!

 

Leave a Reply

