★★★★★ REVIEW: Lost by Donnielle Tyner #PERMAFREE ★★★★★

★★★★★ FREE EBOOK ★★★★★
Lost, book 1 of The Caelian Cycle is now permanently free, and Book 2, BOUND is out now, along with a Novella, Redeem.

Discover the YA book that readers are calling a “can’t put down, thrill-ride that will hit you right in the feels” that features a fabulous female protagonist, a group of friends that are genuine and endearing, and a love interest who is equal-parts nice-guy and bad-ass.
★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★

LOST Donnielle Tyner

SYNOPSIS

During WW1, a meteorite crashed, releasing a mist that changed the DNA of all who were exposed. One hundred years has passed and society is divided between the Norms and the Caelians, whose changed DNA awakened dormant gifts, called Talents.

Sadie is over it!

She’s an orphan, her boyfriend was murdered, and she’s the only Caelian at St. Vincent’s without a Talent. Once she turns 18, there will be no place for her in the world. That is, until a chance encounter with Kian, a Caelian boy who makes her feel uncomfortable and alive at the same time.

Secrets of her past are uncovered and Sadie’s latent, rare Talent is exposed. With great power comes the hunters, hired by an egomaniac who wants to use Sadie’s power to establish Caelian dominance. On the run with Kian and her friends, Sadie will have to decide: hide or fight.

Will Sadie accept her new reality or will she stay lost?

BOOK LINKS*CHECK BEFORE YOU ONE CLICK – I have checked and it is Free on NOOK and Itunes and Amazon showed it as free for me but I am outside of UK and USA 

Amazon US | Amazon UK  B&N | iBooks

REVIEW

Lost (The Caelian Cycle #1)Lost by Donnielle Tyner
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

*** Gifted in exchange for an honest review ***

I wrote a great review and then Goodreads ap on my phone lost it all!
talk about frustrating but here we go again.

This is Book 1 of (I don’t know how many books there will be, but I do want to know what happens next) It is one I really enjoyed, the Main protagonist is Sadie, and I look forward to seeing how she grows as the series continues. Ms Tyner has created a character that actually acts 18 (some YA books have their female leads so immature they act like 12 yr olds!) she knows that for every action there will be a reaction, a consequence, and that was nice and refreshing.

Now I am not a teenager, but I LOVE reading YA Fantasy/Sci-fi/Paranormal stuff its is my FAVOURITE Genre, but some can be quite narrow in plot line. This book is not, there is a lot going on for you to think about, there is tension between the Norms and Caelians and these are about to get worse when Sadie finally comes into her powers after being without any hint of them since birth.

If you like the X-Men, then you will probably like this book, as we have humans that are genetically different to the majority of the population. This is due to a meteor hitting the earth in WW1, and now we have the Caelian’s and the ‘Norm’s’ humans with no powers.

The Caelian’s cannot hide their differences, they have ‘talents’ – powers that can be anything from fire manipulation to healing. Each talent has a consequence – healing, may leave the person drained, sick from the symptoms. BUT the main thing that sets them apart is that their hair, eyes and even skin colour could be any colour of the rainbow.

Now I will pop in here and mention the thing I dislike about this book – Just the cover, Sadie is apparently golden skinned with Colbalt eyes and hair with no colour – and although the cover has bright blue eyes and blonde hair, I am disappointed that the cover artist did not give her golden skin, which is an easy thing to do with filters or a colour layer, Sadie looks human on the cover – I know its not a drastic problem but I do hate when book covers have a model that looks nothing like the character they are supposed to depict.

OK so on with the things I did enjoy…

The writing style, it is quite poetic within some of the descriptive passages

She was girl-next-door beautiful, if your average girl next door had midnight blue skin, and pale yellow eyes and hair. She kept her hair short, but just long enough to show a little kink and curl.

also this one I really enjoyed, I highlighted a few in this book.

“Guilt poured over me like boiling oil. I cringed as the joy and hope melted away, replaced by the sour taste of guilt, and a heavy pit of remorse opened in my chest, stealing my breath.”

I could really visualise Sadie’s pain from this passage.

This is Ms Tyner’s first novel, and although a wordsmith in her career as a freelance writer, I am sure that Ms Tyner will go from strength to strength and I look forward to reading the next installment of the series ‘Bound’ which is out Fall 2015.

I love reading YA, and this book will appeal to all YA readers young and old. There is a Love interest, Kian, he is a bit of a mystery, with Goldenrod Hair (Thats a bright yellow Flower)
Sadie meets him at a party, and she feels something for him, but not knowing him very well, she is wary – I liked this as well, that she did not blindly fall for him and act all silly.

I could go on… but I won’t, I will just end in saying that there are a lot of questions yet to be answered, Sadie has gone through a lot in this book and in the second book, things are going to get interesting – Roll on Fall 2015!

If you are a YA Sci-fi Fan grab a copy now, I am sure you will love it as much as I did.

View all Kat’s reviews

Watch out for the Review on Bound – coming soon – Kat

Author Bio

Hello! Donnielle here, obviously. I really don’t like talking about myself, so lets get this party started. I spend most of my free time writing, but when I’m not writing, I spend my time reading, binge watching Netflix, homeschooling my two children, and hanging out with my husband.

A few fun facts about me:

1.       I began writing when I was in junior high. A teacher approached me with a poetry book and I fell in love. Writing poetry has helped me express myself through some of the darkest times in my life.

2.       I am always reading something and own hundreds of eBooks. I thank the technology gods for the invention of e-readers. Series are my favorite. I love it when I feel like I cannot stop reading a book. My favorite genre is sci-fi and paranormal.

3.       I am a HUGE nerd and enjoy every medium of nerdom from comic books to Magic! The Gathering.

4.       I am a serious introvert and need plenty of alone time so I don’t go insane. Seriously! I will cut someone if they cut in to my “me” time.

5.       I have a passion for holistic medicine and create many of my own household products. My kids and husband will ask for some “oils” when they aren’t feeling well. I love growing herbs to make my own blends of herbal tea.

6.       I read YA almost exclusively. There is just something about it that calls to my heart above other genres.

7.       When I read paranormal it’s either about shifters or faeries.

8.       Writing has always been a passion and a dream. I had many jobs and they never fulfilled me the way writing has.

Follow Donielle on Twitter ~ Facebook ~ Tumblr Instagram or on her Website 

 

Leave a Reply

