Ugly by Margaret McHeyzer Review @MargaretMAuthor

Ugly

Synopsis

If I were dead, I wouldn’t be able to see.
If I were dead, I wouldn’t be able to feel.
If I were dead, he’d never raise his hand to me again.
If I were dead, his words wouldn’t cut as deep as they do.
If I were dead, I’d be beautiful and I wouldn’t be so…ugly.
I’m not dead…but I wish I was.*This is a dark YA/NA standalone, full-length novel. Contains violence and some explicit language.

Review

UglyUgly by Margaret McHeyzer

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

*** Gifted via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review***

I will admit this has been a difficult book to get into, I do know that some women will gravitate towards what they know, so I pushed on and tried not to get too frustrated at Lilys decisions.

If I were dead, I wouldn’t be able to see.
If I were dead, I wouldn’t be able to feel.
If I were dead, he’d never raise his hand to me again.
If I were dead, his words wouldn’t cut as deep as they do.
If I were dead, I’d be beautiful and I wouldn’t be so…ugly.
I’m not dead…but I wish I was.

This is a strong statement, and I am sure there are many women who feel like this in the world, which is a shame because – UGLY is someone elses point of view… it took me years to realise this.

I do have an idea of how peoples harsh words can define a person, as a child/teenager I was bullied and called ‘Ugly’ ‘Stick’ and ‘Frigid’ – I changed from the outgoing child to a shy introverted girl who had few friends and was glad she had her horse to love.

It took the love of my life years to convince me that I was beautiful, but anyway, this experience meant that I could understand how Lily could not pull herself out of this cycle easily.

This book is not an easy read, I found the first half to be very difficult, as I posted part way through the book, but as Lily finally finds the courage to think for herself, to take that first TERRIFYING step to removing herself from the abuse you begin to cheer for each scary step she makes.

I did find on some paragraphs that Max started to show signs of being dominant, but thankfully he is the HEA that Lily deserved… BUT I am glad that she did not jump from the frying pan into the fire so to speak, and Max had to wait until Lily was ready for more than friendship.

its a good standalone story of one girls struggle to escape the life of abuse that unfortunately too many children in the world are suffering.

View all my reviews

Author Bio

**Bound by custom or unique by choice.**

Hi everyone,
I’m Margaret and I’m a self published author from Sydney Australia.
I love to take people on an emotional journey and push them outside their comfort zone when reading one of my books.
I have 11 titles out and I’m working on more. I love to write stories which tackle subjects that may be considered sensitive, and tell them in a way where you can see and feel what my main character is going through.
Thank you for your support, and happy reading!

Follow her on Twitter Facebook and website

Leave a Reply

